Praise God with Words

Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in Your sight O Lord my Rock and my Redeemer.

Such awesome life lessons are contained in this one Scripture, yet many other Scripture say the same thing or have the same idea.  I have heard people say, “well, God knows my heart, he knows how I feel”.  Yes, God does knows your heart and yes, He does knows how you feel.  That isn’t the point being made.  God isn’t interested in the words of your mouth and the meditations of your heart for His sake, but for your sake.  God is quite secure on the Throne of Heaven.  He will still be there whether you praise Him or not.  Nevertheless, praising God out loud with the words that are in your heart does many great things for you. I am assuming, of course, that you truly do meditate on God as Lord and Rock, and Redeemer.  I am also assuming that you have a love for God in some measure in your heart.

For starters, praising God lifts you up into His Throne Room.  I once heard Billye Brim say that “praise is a vehicle to bring one near to God much like a car is the vehicle that brings you near to your home.”

Leave a Reply

