Chapter 10 “Negative Inside Chatter”

When I got to chapter 10 of Lysa Terkeurst’s book Unglued I knew I’d found some truth about myself.  I could really see how I take a slightly negative comment made by someone and change it into something different.  It become about me not being any good.  I play this broken record over and over in my head.  Most of you are not familiar with “records”.  They were hard plastic disk that played music when I was young.  If the record had a scratch on it then it could not move onto the next song, but would go back to the beginning.  You keep hearing the same thing over and over until you physically more the arm on the record player past the scratch mark.  That is what I often do with my life.  The song I’m listen to is a lie.  Lysa says “lies are what reign in the absence of truth.”

I don’t want to stay in the place where I am constantly listening to the negative song playing in my head.  God doesn’t want me there either.  I am meant to be someone special.  God calls me that.  I need to see that for myself.  God has made each person a unique individual with unique talents, abilities, hopes, and dreams. Jeremiah 29:11 says “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” Lies come to deceive us.

So, how do I get to that place where God wants me?  How do I get out of this cycle of playing that same destructive song in my mind?  I’m learning as I go through this chapter.  One of the first things I marked in this chapter was when Lysa said “lies are what reign in the absence of truth.”  Jesus said If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:31b-32)  Jesus also said in John 14:6 that He was the Way, the Truth, and the Life.  Truth is important for my Christian life.  How can I fulfill my God given purpose if I don’t walk in the truth.  The Bible calls Satan the father of lies.  If I am believing lies, that could never please God.  Jesus came to set me free from the power of satan.  I don’t have to be bound any longer.  Psalm 101:7 says “No one who practices deceit shall dwell in my house; no one who utters lies shall continue before my eyes”.  That verse in itself makes this a very serious matter.  I can no longer say well, this is just the way I’ve always been.  God hates lies.  He hates the lies that I listen to in my mind.  When I listen to those lies His truth is hidden from me.  When I listen to the lies instead of the truth I don’t see the glorious plan He has for my life.  I believe we are in the last days, so that makes this more serious.  I am going to take authority over my mind and make it think God’s thoughts.  Philippians 4:8-9 states “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.  What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me – practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you”.  So, the Bible has told me how to control my thoughts.  I am to judge them by this verse.  If a thought does not line up to these things, then I am not to think that thought any longer.

Speaking about our thoughts, a pastor I once had said, “you can’t keep a bird from flying over your head, but you can keep him from building a nest there.”  Yes, negative thoughts will still come, but I’m not going to let them build a nest in my mind any longer.  Thank you Father for reminding me of Your Truth.

2 thoughts on “Chapter 10 “Negative Inside Chatter”

Leave a Reply

