Words, Words, too Many Words

Now don’t misunderstand me, I really like to talk and I actually like to write.  The problem is that sometime words get me into a lot of trouble.  Do you know what I mean? Sometimes it is because I say the wrong thing, but often it is just that I don’t know when to shut-up. Or, most often, it’s because I engage my mouth before consulting my brain!

Words are useful.  That’s how we communicate with one another.  Often the problem isn’t that we are trying to communicate, but that we are trying to debate and we are determined to win the debate!  Now that is a prescription for a disaster.  I ought to know since I’ve had a few of those and I’d bet you have too.

I have notice that when someone is talking to me and maybe I don’t agree or I’m getting a little upset at what they are saying, if I will just be quiet on the inside and listen to that still small voice, I will say the right thing instead of upping the heat of the moment.  We could save ourselves a lot of heartache by doing that and wouldn’t that be nice?

I don’t know about you, but I could stand more peace and less turmoil in my life.  We need to learn to be civil to one another.  We need to learn how to disagree without being disagreeable.  I know how to see that and apply that to other people.  The problem is that often I don’t see my own failures in the matter.  I think that is what Jesus was talking about when he said we need to remove the board from our own eyes before we can take the splinter out of someone else’s eye (Matthew 7:3).

Lets look at some of the things the Bible has to say about our words.

Psalm 19:14 “Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer”.  We could just park right there and sit awhile.  Breath that thought in.  What if we made that our prayer each day? If I pray this each day and if I mean what I’ve prayed, that is bound to effect what comes out of my mouth.

Here’s another thought: 1 Thessalonians 2:5 the apostle Paul says, “For we never came with words of flattery, as you know, nor with a pretext for greed”.  It’s time to get out that trusty thesaurus and look at a couple of words here. Flattery implies cunning or deceiving.  Cunning can be maneuvering for a better position.  Cunning might be concealing facts or information.  Cunning might be termed “finesse” or “politics”. Flattery again involves deceiving. Flattery is a misrepresentation for our own benefit. Flattery is building someone up falsely in order to take advantage of them.  So none of this sounds very good does it?   Paul said that he didn’t talk with a pretext for greed. So, what is greed but trying to get something in a deceiving manner!  Christians are to avoid all such speech.  Our words are to be honest and simple.

Colossians 4:6 says, “Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person”

Fewer words.  More thought.  More grace.  More kindness.  Equals less harsh words, less fights, less hurt feelings, and less regrets.

3 thoughts on “Words, Words, too Many Words

  1. Very well said – ‘fewer words, more thought.’ I find my self falling into the trap of “word vomit” sometimes. Thankfully I have friends who aren’t afraid to call me out and hold me accountable.

Leave a Reply

