Getting into the Zone!

“If you live in Me [abide in Me, vitally united to Me] and My word remain in you [are alive in you]and continue to live in your hearts [daily, constantly], then ask whatever you will, and it shall be done for you.” (John 15:7) 

Is it possible for us to grasp what Jesus is saying in this verse?  These words over-whelm me.  I read them and wonder what kind of faith I really have.  Am I living and abiding with Jesus or am I living and abiding in the world?  Those are hard and important questions to answer.  I don’t know about you, but everything I ask of God is not done for me.  Some people would say that proves God does not exist or that He doesn’t care.  I see something different.  I know enough about the Word of God and God’s character to know that the problem is me not Him!

Jesus said if.  I wish that little word was not in this verse, but it is and that matters. If I am living in Christ Jesus that would mean that my will and God’s will are so entwined that the thing I ask of Him will be the things He wills to do and I will get what I’ve asked.

Jesus said, “Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing….If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.  By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples….You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you. (John 15: 5b,7-8,16 ESV)

His will must be my will and His thoughts my thoughts; my heart will be His home; my heart, His heart.  At this point I would have true unity with the Father and the Son.  At this point He would refuse me nothing because my asking would finally be in line with the will of my loving Father.  I would finally be praying “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done” in such a way that it’s meaning would overwhelm me.  My silly, fickle desires would flee from my mind.  I would cease from always seeking and asking for temporal things that are not for my good, because they are not God’s perfect plan.  God has a perfect plan for my life and your life.  That’s what we want.  How I long to find myself in that perfect place!

How can I ever get there where I long to be?  I will only get there by changing my foolish thinking for God’s perfect thoughts.  I can only get God’s perfect thought by feeding on His Word.  I can only get His Word by studying the Bible.  There are no short cuts or Cliff notes with God.  God does not do the “microwave” thing.  Just like a running back has to do hard work before the game and during the game to finally make it into the end zone and score points, so to the work of the spirit.  I must work my spirit to get it to line up with God’s spirit.

Unity! Oneness with the Creator of the universe.  Oneness with the God who created me in His image.  That isn’t what I see in the mirror each day, but that is what God sees.  God is a spirit.  A spirit can not be seen or perceived with the human eye.  A spirit can only be seen by a spirit.  God is a spirit and Jesus said God seeks people who will worship Him in spirit and in truth.  My spiritual work requires reading my Bible.  Working to understand what I read.  Applying what I have read.  And then the most important part – talking to God like I would my most loving, trusted friend, which He is!

Leave a Reply

