LET GOD CHISEL

God sees something in us that He put there, but our life experiences, the world, our choices, and our circumstances have hidden the beauty that is inside each of us. God’s desire is to make us shine like the diamonds we are. I know, you don’t feel like a diamond. Neither do I. Yet, I know God. I know His heart for His children. He hurts when He see the muck that has clouded His treasure. So, He sets to work. Cleaning and polishing us to His plan.

How does God do this? You might ask. He chisels. It hurts. We don’t like that, so we usually resist. We go our own way and get more muck piled on top of us. God hurts. We hurt. God begins to chisel again. We cry out, “God it hurts.” He continues chiseling. Finally we see what must be and submit. Chisel Lord. Make me into Your workmanship. As Lysa Terkeurst says in Unglued:

“Paul was God’s workmanship. Peter was God’s workmanship. We are God’s workmanship! God is chiseling us, making us new, releasing us from our hard places – those places that make us feel so stinkin defeated – so we can do good works. Works God has prepared for us, which means He knows best how to prepare in us the character we need to fulfill our calling.

Oh that we might hear the purposeful clink of the Master’s chisel and call it grace:

‘For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith – and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God – not by works, so that no one can boast. For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do’. (Ephesians 2:8-10 NIV 1984)”

I don’t know about you, but I get tired of being weighed down by the weight of the world on my shoulders. I’m not able to carry all the demands of others. I lose me in the process. I end up not knowing who I am or what I was created for, but God knows. It was His plan all along to make me into the image of Christ Jesus His Son to do His good works on the earth. I was made in the image of God. I don’t look like that to myself and I certainly don’t look like that to other people, but I look like that to God. That’s what He sees in me. That’s why He chisels and chisels. He is working on me. The work goes faster when I choose to cooperate with Him. I think I’ll do that.

Maybe you would like to join me on this journey of becoming all that God created you to be.  If so, why don’t you give this Proverbs 31 OBS a try?  I think you will gain much from the study of UNGLUED by Lysa TerKeurst.  Sign up now.

http://proverbs31.org/online-bible-studies/

Leave a Reply

